

CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEE FOR REFORMS IN CRIMINAL LAW

Vide its Notification 1-2-19 Judicial Cell (Part I) dated 4-5-2020, Ministry of Home Affairs, Govt. of India constituted a Committee to recommend criminal reforms in India.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

1.	Prof. (Dr.) Ranbir Singh (Chairperson), Vice Chancellor, National Law University Delhi
2.	Prof. (Dr.) G.S. Bajpai (Member & Convenor), Registrar, National Law University Delhi
3.	Prof. (Dr.) Mrinal Satish (Member), Professor, National Law University Delhi
4.	Mr. Mahesh Jethmalani (Member), Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of India
5.	Mr. G.P. Thareja (Member), Former District & Session Judge, Delhi

The Committee seeks to recommend reforms in the criminal law of the country in a principled, effective and efficient manner that ensures the safety and security of the individual, the community and the nation; and which prioritises the constitutional values of justice, dignity, and the inherent worth of the individual.

Towards this end the Committee shall also undertake country-wide consultations with law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, judiciary, advocates, academics, and civil society including media organisations. The Committee will be assisted by a set of researchers and consultants.

Registrar

National Law University Delhi

May 05, 2020