ITEM NO.1+2+3+4+5 Court 7 (Video Conferencing) SECTION PIL-W

SUPREME COURT OF INDIA RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s).857/2016

IN RE: APPOINTMENT OF JUDICIAL MEMBERS IN THE ARMED FORCES TRIBUNAL Petitioner(s)

VERSUS

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE & ANR. Respondent(s) (with applns. for clarification/direction and intervention application)

WITH

M.A. No.1058/2020 in W.P.(C) No.640/2017 (with applns. for clarification/direction and exemption from filing affidavit

MA 1152/2020 in W.P.(C) No.279/2017 (with applns. for clarification/direction, exemption from filing affidavit, intervention application and permission to file additional documents/facts/annexures)

W.P.(C) No.867/2020 (with applns. for clarification/direction and exemption from filing affidavit

W.P.(C) No.1431/2019 (with appln. for appropriate orders/directions)

T.P.(C) Nos.905-915/2020 (with appln. for ex-parte stay)

SLP(C) Nos.9587-9588/2020 (XII)

Diary No.18900/2020 (XVI-A) (with applns. for ex-parte stay and permission to file petition)

W.P.(Civil) No.804/2020 (with appln. for stay)

SLP (C) No.9593/2020

SLP(C) NO.8446/2020 (with appln. for permission to file lengthy list of dates)

M.A. No.1481/2020 in W.P.(C)No.279/2017 (with applns. for permission, appropriate orders/directions,

exemption from filing affidavit, intervention/impleadment and permission to file additional documents/facts/annexures)

Date: 16-09-2020 These matters were called on for hearing today.

CORAM:

HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE L. NAGESWARA RAO HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE HEMANT GUPTA HON'BLE MR. JUSTICE S. RAVINDRA BHAT

By Courts Motion, AOR

For the parties :

Mr. K. K. Venugopal, AG

Mr. Tushar Mehta, SG

Mr. Suryaprakash V. Raju, ASG

Mr. Balbir Singh ASG

Mr. R. Balasubramanian, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Rajat Nair, Adv.

Mr. Zoheb Hossain, Adv.

Ms. Shraddha Deshmukh, Adv.

Mr. Chinmayee Chandra, Adv.

Mr. Manan Popli, Adv.

Mr. A. K. Sharma, AOR

Ms. Anil Katiyar, AOR

Mr. B.K.Prasad, AOR

Ms. Madhavi Divan, ASG

Mr. Ayush Puri, Adv.

Ms. Alka Agarwal, Adv.

Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, Adv.

Mr. Arvind Datar, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Krishnakumar R.S., Adv.

Mr. R.K. Srivastav, Adv.

Mr. Rajesh Kumar, AOR

Mr. Rahul Unnikrishnan, Adv

Mr. T.V.S. Raghavendra Sreyas, AOR

Mr. Naveen Hegde Adv

Mr. N Sai Vinod, Adv

Mr. Hemant Singh, Adv.

Ms. Mamta R. Jha, Adv.

Mr. Waseem Shuaib Ahmed, Adv.

Mr. Sambhav Jain, Adv.

Mr. Mohit D. Ram, AOR

Mr. Sidharth Luthra, Sr.Adv.

Ms. Sakshi Kakkar (AOR)

Mr. Shakti Singh Adv.

Mr. Ayush Kaushik, Adv.

Ms. Ankita Tiwari, Adv.

3

Mr. Mukul Rohatgi, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Saurab Kripal, Adv.

Mr. Rupesh Kumar, Adv

Mr. Rajeev Sharma, Adv

Ms. Neelam Sharma, Adv

Ms. Pankhuri Shrivastava, Adv

Mr. Alekshendra Sharma, Adv

Mr. Guru Krishnakumar, Sr.Adv.

Mr. M.S. Bharat, Adv

Mr. Madhan Babu, Adv

Mr. A. Prasanna Venkat, Adv

Mr. Deepayan Mandal, AOR

Mr. Arindam Ghosh , Adv

Mr. P. S.Narasimha, Sr. Adv.

Mr. J. Sai Deepak, Adv.

Mr. Guruswamy Nataraj, Adv.

Ms. Pooja Dhar, Adv.

Mr. Avinash K. Sharma, Adv.

Mr V.Chitambaresh, Sr. Adv

Mr. Lakshmeesh S. Kamath, AOR

Mr. C.Govind Venugopal, Adv.

Mr. C.A. Sundaram, Sr.Adv.

Ms. Priya Hingorani, Sr.Adv.

Ms. A.K. Behera, Adv.

Mr. V.K. Verma, AOR

Mr. Zafar Inayat, Adv.

Ms. Rohini Musa, Adv.

Mr. Abhishek Gupta, Adv

Mr. A.S. Chandhiok, Sr Adv.

Mr. Satyajit A. Desai, Adv.

Mr. Vipul Ganda, Adv.

Mr. Satya Kam Sharma, Adv.

Ms. Anagha S. Desai, AOR

Ms. Aastha Trivedi, Adv.

Ms. Guresha Bhambra, Adv.

Mr. C.S. Vaidyanathan, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Sameer, AOR

Mr. Nalin Talwar, Adv

Mr. Amish Tandon, Adv

Mr. Ayush Beotra, Adv

Mr. Varun Tandon, Adv

Ms. Megha Choubey, Adv.

Mr. Gautam Misra, Sr. Adv.

Mr. M.S. Ganesh, Sr. Adv.

Ms. Rukhsana Choudhury, Adv.

Mr. Seshachary Komanduri, Adv.

Mr. Chittarvu Nageswara Rao, Sr. Adv.

Ms. Divya Garg, Adv.

Mr. Sonal Jain, AOR

Mr. Rakesh Kumar Khanna, Sr. Adv.

Mr. Himanshu Mehra, Adv

Mr. Anurag, AOR

Mr. Sanjeev Bhandari, Adv.

Mr. Amit Dhalli, Adv.

Mr. I.P. Singh, Adv.

Mr. Sushant Bali, Adv.

Ms. Spriha Bhandari, Adv.

Mr. Viresh B. Saharya, AOR

Mr. Akshat Agarwal, Adv.

Mr. Lakshmeesh S. Kamath, AOR

Mr. Raj Bahadur Yadav, AOR

Mr. Surya Prakash, Adv.

Ms. Sindoora, Adv.

For M/S KMNP LAW, AOR

Ms. Giffara S, Adv.

Mr. Bilal Niamathulla, Adv.

Ms. Ruxana PN, Adv.

Mr. P A Noor Muhamed, Adv.

Ms. Nidhi Jaswal, AOR

Mr. Rohit Dhyani, Adv.

Mr. Sriram Parakkat AOR

Mr. MS Vishnu Shankar, Adv

Mr. Sarath Janardhanan, Adv.

Mr. Piyush Sharma, AOR

Mr. Rajeev Manglik, Adv

Mr. A.K.Trivedi Adv

Mr. Ajay Bansal, Adv.

Mr. Kuldip singh, Adv.

Mr. Gaurav Yadav, Adv.

Ms. Veena Bansal, Adv.

Mr. Mohan Kumar, AOR

Ms. Archana Pathak Dave, AOR

Mr. T.V. George, AOR

Mr. Kawaljit Singh Bhatia, AOR

Ms. Diksha Rai, AOR

UPON hearing the counsel the Court made the following O R D E R

Writ Petition(s)(Civil) No(s).857/2016:

De-taq.

I.A. No.73597/2020 in W.P.(C) No.1431 of 2019.

This I.A. is filed for extension of the term of the incumbent Chairperson of the Intellectual Property Appellate Board ('IPAB') beyond 21st September, 2020. Mr. Justice Manmohan Singh was appointed as Chairperson of the IPAB on 01.01.2018. This Court directed that Mr. Justice Manmohan Singh shall be allowed to continue as Chairperson of the IPAB for a period of one year from the date of his attaining the age of superannuation. As the term of his appointment in accordance with the order of this Court is expiring on 21st September, 2020, extension is sought for his continuance on the ground that he is entitled to continue till 01.01.2022 as per the Rules of 2020.

As the matters pertaining to the validity of the Rules 2020 are being heard finally, we extend the term of Justice Manmohan Singh as Chairperson of the Intellectual Property Appellate Board ('IPAB') for a period of three months from today.

Interlocutory Application stands disposed of.

SLP (C) No.9593/2020 and SLP(C)No.8446/2020:

Issue notice returnable on 15.10.2020.

There shall be stay of impugned judgment and order of the High Court in the meanwhile.

De-tag from rest of the matters.

REST OF THE MATTERS:

List on 23.09.2020 as part-heard.

(Geeta Ahuja) Court Master (Anand Prakash) Branch Officer